Global leaders in sustainability announced for the 2012 savewater! awards®

The finalists for the national 2012 savewater! awards® have been announced, with 43 exceptional finalists being selected from over 1,000 applications across Australia and internationally. Who are the global leaders in sustainability? Let’s find out…

Australian Achiever

This award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to water conservation through initiative and leadership. The finalists are:

Be recognised for your commitment to the environment

Business Award

The Business Award acknowledges outstanding water savings achieved by businesses. Two awards will be presented in this category: Small Business (less than 15 staff), and Large Business (15 or more staff). The finalists are:

Small Business

Large Business

Mark Holckner and Hugo Rust

Community Groups

Recognised in their community as a leader in water conservation, the winner of this award will have achieved outstanding water savings and demonstrated a commitment to efficient water use. This year’s finalists are:

Educational Institutions

Education tools and programs in schools play a vital role in achieving long-term attitudinal and behavioural change towards water and the way we use it. This award recognises schools and educational institutions that have exhibited or implemented water conservation tools, projects, or programs. The finalist schools for this year are:


This award acknowledges achievement and a strong ongoing commitment by a local authority, state or federal government agency/department to reducing its own or the community’s water use. This year’s finalists are:

Product Innovations

This category rewards the development and commercialisation of innovative products that minimise water consumption. This award is open to any manufacturer or producer of a commercially available product from anywhere in the world. Products can include (but are not limited to) domestic appliances, consumer products, commercial equipment, washing systems, water storage systems, irrigation and software. This year’s finalists are:

Water Utilities

This award acknowledges achievement and a strong ongoing commitment by a water utility at local, regional, state or national level, to reducing its own or the community’s water use. Members of the savewater!® Alliance make up three quarters of this year’s finalists:


The Photographic Award is designed to recognise creative talent by capturing water conservation imagery as the key focus. This category welcomes photographers from across the globe to submit their photographs. Three awards will be presented; Junior Student (up to 12 years old), Senior Student (13 to 17 years old) and Open.

Junior Gallery:

  • Ivy McGufficke – Cooma, New South Wales
  • Florance McGufficke – Cooma, New South Wales
  • Olivia Meerton – Secret Harbour, Western Australia
  • Charli Watts – Port Fairy, Victoria
  • Ziamel Abbygaile M. Zacarias – Philippines

Senior Gallery:

  • Charmoni Martin-Cogger – Perth Western Australia
  • Hayley Broere – Armadale, Western Australia
  • Jessica Ricci – Hoppers Crossing, Victoria
  • Michelle Estocado – Antipolo City, Philippines
  • Paris Hardwick – Geelong, Victoria

Open Gallery:

  • Joel Forte – Antipolo City, Philippines
  • Josef Hinterleitner – Sierning, Austria
  • Md. Khalid Rayhan Shawon – Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Prasanta Biswas – Town, India
  • Ramesh Soni – Dhar, India
  • Deon Van der Walt – Rietondale, South Africa (Highly Commended)
  • Md. Mahbubur Rahman – Dhaka, Bangladesh (Highly Commended)

The independent judging process was headed by environmental consultant, Mr Rob Gell, with an expert panel of judges to determine the leaders in water sustainability across eight categories.

Mr Rob Gell, environmental consultant and head judge, was impressed with the standard of the 2012 entries and believes that the savewater! awards® continue to see innovative programs coming forward, and in greater numbers.

“Each of this year’s finalists has demonstrated the high level of water-efficiency that the judging panel requires, but we’re also seeing programs that are more comprehensive in their scope and which deliver a range of positive environmental outcomes. In a number of cases, former winners have extended their programs and delivered additional impressive results,” said Mr Gell.

“Many of the finalists have set new standards for their respective industries, which we expect will inspire and promote best sustainable practice in the future,” he said.

Now in its tenth year, the prestigious savewater! awards® recognise and reward excellence in water-efficiency by business, government, schools, local communities and individuals.

savewater! awards

Winners will be announced at the awards Gala Ceremony on Friday, 26th October 2012.

Stay tuned for more information on the savewater! awards and the finalists for each category.